Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Alimosho misses out as MTN 5G reaches 81 Lagos communities (FULL LIST)

Although MTN did not explain the coverage methodology that excluded these areas, a source said that those communities not covered at the moment, will in the shortest possible time be covered.

DESPITE being the most populated Local Government Area in Nigeria, Alimosho LGA, including all its 6 LCDAs have missed out on the list of 81 pioneer communities that can now conveniently access MTN 5G services in their neighbourhood

According to media reports, the list of communities that will be available to access the MTN 5G network include; Abijo Village, Abule Oja, Aguda, Ajao Estate, Badore, Chevron Estate, Dolphin Estate Idi-Oro, Ilupeju, Langbasa, Magboro, Mushin, Sabo Yaba, and Victoria Garden City, among others.

Vanguard, in an exclusive report, confirmed that these communities, which span across Mainland, Lagos Island, Ikoyi, Lekki, and Ajah, among others, can now perform remote surgical operations, operate smart vehicles, do seamless virtual meetings, and generally operate smart city projects if they deploy other services that can leverage the immersive capabilities of 5G.

MTN say they can now hook on to new services that can transform industries with ultra-reliable, available, low-latency links like remote control of critical infrastructure, vehicles, and medical procedures.

According to MTN, “These communities are lucky to be the first to move up the ladder. 5G has an increased capacity of up to 100 times faster than 4G, meaning faster connectivity. It has low latency and greater bandwidth.

“Therefore, real-time high-quality communications and experiences can be achieved, making downloading movies possible in seconds, for instance.

“This real-time capacity is why it can be deployed for e-health, connected vehicles and traffic systems, smart home appliances, advanced mobile cloud gaming, workplace safety among others.”

However, a peep into the list shows that cities like Festac, Satellite Town and environs, and the Badagry axis are not covered. Communities in Apapa, Ajegunle, Ikorodu, Epe and others are not also covered while remote communities like Mushin, Oke Ira Nla, Magboro, and Ajao Estate are well on the 5G coverage now.

Although MTN did not explain the coverage methodology that excluded these areas, the source however boasted that the company’s plans of covering the six geo-political zones of the country on 5G 'have the speed of light'; meaning that those communities not covered at the moment, will, in the shortest possible time, be covered.

See the full list of all communities covered by 5G below

List of 5G enabled communities
List of 5 G-enabled communities