Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Mendy, Courtois, Ederson nominated for Yashin Trophy

The award is to honour the best performing goalkeeper.
Thibaut Courtois
Thibaut Courtois

NOMINEES have been released for the year 2022 Yashin Trophy that will see top European club keepers compete for the prestigious award.

The Yashin Trophy, which was inaugurated in 2019, was created as an association football award presented annually by France Football to the best-performing goalkeeper. It is an award named after the Russian goalkeeper, Lev Yashin, and the winner is selected by former Ballon d'Or winners.

This year’s edition will see top goalkeepers in Europe compete for the prestigious trophy which has seen Alison and Gianluigi Donnarumma scoop up the trophy.

This year's nominees and their football clubs include;

Yassine Bounou - Sevilla

Alisson - Liverpool

Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid

Ederson - Manchester City

Mike Maignan - AC Milan

Edouard Mendy - Chelsea

Hugo Lloris - Tottenham

Kevin Trapp - Eintracht Frankfurt

Jan Oblak - Atletico Madrid

Manuel Neuer - Bayern Munich

As it stands, Thibaut Courtois of Real Madrid is rated as the possible winner of the award after winning the La Liga, Champions League, and Super Cup with the club.